Something in a name

This blog needs an introduction.

Not just an introduction for anyone who might be reading (I still haven’t decided to make this public or not), but for myself. But before I launch into the reasons for making this blog (riveting I know) I am going to talk about the connotations of it’s title as I spent A LOT of my free time thinking it up.


Wikipedia Dodo

The dodo (Raphus cucullatus) is an extinct flightless bird that was endemic to the island of Mauritius, east of Madagascar in the Indian Ocean…  The dodo’s appearance in life is evidenced only be drawing, paintings and written accounts from the 17th Century. It has been depicted with brownish-grey plumage, yellow feet, a tuft of tail feathers, a grey, naked head, and a black, yellow, and green beak… Like many animals that evolved in isolation, the dodo was entirely fearless of humans. This fearlessness and its inability to fly made the dodo easy prey for sailors.”

Besides this being quite an adorable and ridiculous-sounding bird, I think that we can imagine it’s anthropomorphic features. As well as being “fearless” (unfortunately to their detriment) In my mind they sound friendly and inquisitive; qualities that I hope I posses!

1024px-Dronte_17th_Century_color_corrected

“Aller au dodo

Go to sleep. French baby talk.

This is just charming: who doesn’t love a good sleep? In this blog I intend to show you a relaxed take on my experience of the world.

Urban Dictionary Dodo

Relating to the extinct and perpetually bungling Dodo bird. Used to describe someone without common sense and who always has the pathetic confused look on their face when a question is asked. “She’s such a stupid Dodo” (this expression was censored for the younger audience and my delicate sensibility)

I’d hope that no one describes me in this way but unfortunately it may be appropriate.

Métro, boulot, dodo

A french expression which succinctly states that you live to work. Métro refers to a subway commute; boulot is an informal word for work, and dodo is baby talk for sleeping.

In contrast to the earlier “sleeping,” my life often feels like this saying. Work and academia are a massive part of my life and often overwhelming. Especially at University this epigram quickly becomes the norm and I’d like to reflect on the hectic moments as well as the calm ones.

Dodo‘s Are Forever

The novel by Dick King-Smith was one of the best books of my childhood.

My original inspiration and a crackin’ book!

IMG_2290-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

