2017. Goals and Plans.

I am excited for 2017. Not in a “New Year, new me!” kind of way. But I do want to continue to do the things I did well in 2016, to take a moment to reflect on what things I shouldn’t be doing, and come up with brand new projects or markers of progress! I’ve also go a couple of really exciting things coming my way (let me hear you say LA (!!!) Let me hear you say Aussssss (!!!) ) in the summer.

So without further ado, my 2017 goals:

Things I want to continue doing

  • I want to keep on reading. This year I managed to read wayyyy more books than in previous years. Really there is no reason why I can’t reach the level of book-worminess that I did when I was 12 and obsessed with The Roman Mysteries. It’s all about making it a priority. Just over one book a month is 15 books in the year- shouldn’t be too hard at all really.
  • I want to continue running. Every now and then I would get outside and realise how INVIGORATING it is to have the cold air on my face and feel free and listen to a great podcast too. If I keep on top of my physio calf exercises then maybe this’ll be the year that I manage 15k.
  • Stretching everyday. Remember when you were so flexible you could do the splits? And some yoga. Adriene does some really accessible and fun routines so I really want to set aside time to do this.
  • I’m currently on a 5 day Duolingo streak. By the end of this year I WILL be indistinguishable from a Parisienne.
  • Tennis. Whenever I can, wherever I can.
  • Wake up early in the morning and work out. It saves time and just makes my day so goooooood.
  • To eat ethically and consciously. If that means exploring the corners of the internet and reading hundreds of books, or becoming mostly plant-based or vegetarian, or spending more money on fine-quality cuts of meat, then so be it. You’ve come to so many realisations in the past year so stand your ground, even when people ridicule you. It’s your life, so if you want to eat less meat, buy quinoa and chia seeds, ask questions about where things came from, don’t be embarrassed or back down. But at the same time if you slip up then that’s fine. And don’t label yourself: life is short, needs to be enjoyed, and you’re not going to change the world.

Things I want to stop doing

  • For the love of all that is good stop twiddling your hair.
  • Food is great. Food is wonderful. But something to stop completely if you ever catch yourself at it is binging and gorging yourself on cupboard food (I’m looking at you nut butter and biscoff). And on that note, stop eating when you are full. You are not a dustbin.
  • I want to spend less time on my phone and just procrastinating in general on the internet. It’s gotten to the point where I can’t even go to the *toilet* without snapchat. Okay well, I suppose it’s harmless then, but I’ve realised that I spend less time with ACTUAL friends because I spend time with online people. Not to mention on studies.

Things I want to add

  • Doing this blog. I’ve realised recently that sharing and recording my thoughts and experiences is really cathartic (if I can use that term?) and fulfilling for me, even if the only person reading it is me. I need to get better at writing and somehow express my thoughts and feelings about topics like ethical and sustainable living so that I can understand my own position. Plus, my writing is in need of some improvement.
  • Talk to God more and read your Bible and pray your rosary.
  • Be more minimalistic. You’ve always know that “mess makes you dizzy” but really I think that STUFF and clutter and junk makes you dizzy!!
  • Art and drawing. It used to be such a big part of my life and I really do have a talent (yes that’s right I just backed myself). Drawing can be a way to tell a story so by the end of this year I want to be able to tell stories in cartoons like Frannerd and others do and commit to drawing almost every day. And learn how to paint in watercolour. And so some PROPER BIG Paintings.
  • I want to give more of my time to others: family and friends and strangers. At least every fortnight I want to force myself to organise a coffee date with someone, or cook for them, or phone them (even though I hate phone conversations) and spread the love around.

Things I want to achieve

  • My DSLR camera has been in auto mode for embarrassingly long. Last year I got a taste of just how rewarding it can be to play around with the buttons. But photography is a skill, so it takes time to master and I need to put the work in. Once i’m starting to get the hang of that I really want to learn how to use editing software and make the images really POP. And after that to be able to make and edit some really awesome videos of my trips to Australia and LA (remember to buy memory cards though).
  • To feel really confident approaching and talking to patients and doctors at clinical school. It really feels like I’ve been thrown in at the deep end, but so has everyone else so I have no excuse.
  • In the gym (oh gosh how I love the gym) this will be the year that I become comfortable with squats and easily carry 50kg on my back, that I can do 5 unassisted pull-ups in a row (last year I got to 3 and then became lazy. WHY MONIKA WHY?), and bench press 40kg.
  • To live on £3 a day or less is a reality for so many people in this world. Challenging myself to do the same for the entirety of Lent will challenging, fulfilling, and will save me some money!
Leave a Reply

